TOM 5 - Metamaterials, Plasmonics and Resonant Nanophotonics

Delft, Netherlands
8 October 2018 - 12 October 2018


Riad Haidar, ONERA (France)

Femius Koenderink,
AMOLF Amsterdam (Netherlands)

Nicolos Bonod,
Fresnel Institute (France)



Nanophotonics aims at controlling light at nanometer scales. The design of nanostructures that can resonantly interact with light is of crucial importance to enhance light matter interactions and to control field distributi-ons at subwavelength scales. These novel nanostructures offer technical and technological solutions with high innovation potential. The TOM 5 will address both fundamental and application aspects of resonant photonics. Topics will cover quantum nano-optics, bio- and chemo- sensing, non-linear optics, metamaterials, optical trapping, new plasmonic materials, theory and modal analysis, among others.

Plenary Speaker

  Revisiting quantum optics with surface plasmon
  Jean-Jacques Greffet, Institut d'Optique, France

Jean-Jacques Greffet is an alumni of Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan (1979-82). He obtained a PhD from university Paris-  Sud Orsay in 1988 in solid state physics and the Habilitation in 1992. Jean-Jacques Greffet was a professor at Ecole Centrale  Paris between 1994 and 2008. He is currently professor at Institut d’Optique, Université Paris Sud and a senior member of Institut Universitaire de France. He has made a number of contributions in light scattering by random systems. Between 1994 and 2005, he worked on the theory of image formation in near-field optics. Since 1998, he made a number of contributions in the field of thermal radiation at the nanoscale including the demonstration of coherent thermal sources and the giant radiative heat transfer at the nanoscale. His current research interests include nanophotonics (nanoantennas, quantum plasmonics) and the design of smart IR incandescent sources. He has coauthored 170 refereed papers with more than 6000 citations. He is an OSA fellow and the recipient of the Ixcore foundation prize and the Servant prize of the french Academy of Science. 


Invited Speakers

  • Costanza Toninelli, Lens, Firenze, Italy; Organic molecules for intergrated quantum photonics
  • Mikael Käll, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden; Plasmonic Nanostructures for Molecular Sensing and Actuation
  • Alexander Grigorenko, The University of Manchester, UK; Metamaterials with topological darkness for biosensing
  • Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea; Metasurface for complex holograms
  • Juliane Doster (on behalf of Eva Weig), University of Konstanz, Germany


Topics include (but are not limited in)

  • Quantum nano-optics & optical antennas
  • (Quantum) nanophotonics with 2D materials (e.g., TMDCs)
  • Nanophotonics for bio- and chemo-sensing applications
  • Active and tunable optical metamaterials
  • Nonlinear optics in nanostructures and metamaterials
  • Meta-surfaces & applications
  • New plasmonic materials
  • Nanomanipulation with light, optical trapping
  • Nanophotonics for energy applications
  • Nonreciprocity, and time-modulated nanophotonic materials
  • Transport in quasiperiodic and random photonic systems
  • Theory and modelling for nanophotonics and metamaterials,topological photonics


Program Committee

  • Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University (UK)
  • Andrea Fiore, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (NL)
  • Niek van Hulst, ICFO (ES)
  • Silvia Vignolini, University of Cambridge (UK)
  • Patrick Bouchon (ONERA, FR)
  • William L.Barnes, University of Exeter (UK)
  • Paul Urbach, TU Delft (NL)