TOM 8 - Adaptive Optics & Information driven optical systems

Delft, Netherlands
8 October 2018 - 12 October 2018


Joerg Petschulat,
Carl Zeiss AG (Germany)                   
Allard Mosk,
Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science,
Utrecht University (Netherlands)



Optical imaging systems handle an ever more intricate interplay of light and information. Adaptive optics and adaptive illumination both multiply the amount of data retrieved from the specimen. The evaluation of this data by computational post-processing enables the extraction of previously inaccessible information.
Adaptive optics systems gather information on the possible distortions between the lenses and the object and correct those using deformable mirrors or spatial light modulators. With these tailored manipulations quantitative data can be accessed revealing relevant object information, such as its phase and its 3D structure, that are not easily available from conventional systems.
Adaptive illumination systems optimize the information gathered form the photons that interact with the object. In lensless and disordered imaging systems, diffraction and scattering yields patterns from which image information can be retrieved through calculations, reducing the optical complexity or even completely eliminating the lens system.
In this session progress will be shown toward new imaging methods that are more robust to misalignment, scattering and aberration, easier to produce and more versatile in wavelength and resolution than traditional systems.


Plenary Speaker

  Computational Microscopy
  Laura Waller, Berkeley University, United States

 Laura Waller leads the Computational Imaging Lab, which develops new methods for optical imaging, with optics and      
 computational algorithms designed jointly. She holds the Ted Van Duzer Endowed Professorship and is a Senior Fellow at the  
 Berkeley Institute of Data Science (BIDS), with affiliations in Bioengineering and Applied Sciences & Technology. Laura was a 
 Postdoctoral Researcher and Lecturer of Physics at Princeton University from 2010-2012 and received BS, MEng and PhD 
 degrees from MIT in 2004, 2005 and 2010, respectively. She is a Moore Foundation Data-Driven Investigator, Bakar fellow, Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring awardee, NSF CAREER awardee, Chan-Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator, SPIE Early Career Achievement Awardee and Packard Fellow.


Invited Speakers

  • Rafael Piestun, University of Colorado, United States of America; Fundamentals and Applications of Adaptive Wavefront Shaping in Linear and Nonlinear Complex Media
  • Marc Guillon, Neurophotonics Laboratory, Paris Descartes University, France; Compressed three-dimensional super-resolution imaging with speckles


Topics include but are not limited to:

  • Adaptive Optics
  • Optical phase conjugation
  • Computational adaptive optics
  • Image reconstruction
  • Ptychography / coherent diffraction imaging
  • Angular illumination and detection methods
  • Illumination with shaped wavefronts


Program Committee

  • Christophe Moser, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Christoph Husemann, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
  • Ivo Vellekoop, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Tomas Cizmar, University of Dundee, United Kingdom