EOS News

International Day of Women and Girls in Science, 11 February 2017

Science and gender equality are both vital for the achievement of the internationally agreed development goals, including the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Over the past 15 years, the global community has made a lot of effort in inspiring and engaging women and girls in science. Unfortunately, women and girls continued to be excluded from participating fully in science.

In order to achieve full and equal access to and participation in science for women and girls, and further achieve gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls, the United Nations General Assembly adopted resolution A/RES/70/212 (draft
A/70/474/Add.2) declaring 11 February as the International Day of Women and Girls in Science.  

The United Nations invites all Member States including academia, individuals and society in general, to observe the International Day of Women and Girls in Science to promote the full and equal participation of women and girls in education, training, employment and decision-making processes in the sciences.


February 11 Initiative in Spain https://11defebrero.org/ (in Spanish)

The initiative is based on the belief that a broad knowledge of the work of women scientists, past and present, will produce role models for future women researchers and hence will help close the persistent gender gap in science. The role of the February 11 Initiative is to promote the organisation of activities for students and for the general public and to publicise them.


EOS Board Election - the Results

The result of the 2016 Election to the Board of the European Optical Society is that the five people named below are hereby elected to the Board. Because we had five candidates for five positions, no voting was needed.

  • Ettemeyer, Andreas (Switzerland) (re-elected for a second term)
  • Ivo, Rendina (Italy)
  • Michinel, Humberto (Spain)
  • Segonds, Patricia (France) (re-elected for a second term)
  • Urbach, Paul (The Netherlands) (re-elected for a second term)

The Election Officer, on behalf of the President and Executive Committee of the European Optical Society, would like to thank all the candidates for their election.

Hans Peter Herzig
Election Officer, 2016 EOS Board Election