SPP5 - The Fifth International Conference on Surface Plasmon Photonics

Busan, Korea
15 May 2011 - 20 May 2011

 Plasmonics is a rapidly growing and evolving field on the cutting edge of optical sciences, photonic, thin film- and nanotechnology. The SPP conference series is the premier international series in this field. SPP-5 will bring together in excess of 400 plasmonics experts from across the globe, both junior and senior, both from academia and industry to exchange their latest results and set the agenda for future developments in the field.

  The topics will include:
  • fundamental science
  • terahertz plasmonics
  • nano-fabrication
  • application of plasmonic (nano)structures, such as biosensors for health care or light concentration for solar energy
  • optical instrumentation for performing state-of-the-art research etc.

While more invited speakers (about 20) will be recruited from the abstracts received, the present list
of confirmed invited speakers is as follows:

Javier Aizpurua (Nanophotonics at the Center of Materials Physics)
Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology)
Richard Averitt (Boston University)
Pierre Berini (University of Ottawa)
Che Ting Chan (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Richard Van Duyne (Northwestern University)
Thomas Ebbesen (University Louis Paste
Javier Garcia de Abajo (IO-CSIC)
Francisco Garcia Vidal (Autonomous University of Madrid)
Michael Giersig (Helmholtz-Centre Berlin for Material and Energy)
Naomi Halas (Rice University)
Teruya Ishihara (Tohoku University)
Mikael Kall (Chalmers University of Technology)
Jacob Khurgin (Johns Hopkins University)
Seung-Woo Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
Yuri Kivshar (Australian National University)
Kevin MacDonald (University of Southampton)
Stefan Maier (Imperial College)
Hiroaki Misawa (Hokkaido University)
Fumiaki Miyamaru (Shinshu University)
Lukas Novotny (Institute of Optics)
ㆍSang-Hyun Oh (University of Minnesota)
Wille Padilla (Boston College)
Hongkun Park (Harvard University)
Romain Quidant (Institute of Photonic Sciences)
Tim Taminiau (Institute of Photonic Sciences)
Antoinette Taylor (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Jean-Claude Weeber (University of Bourgogne)
Younan Xia (Washington University in St. Louis)
Xiang Zhang (University of California, Berkeley)


The abstract submission is open and you are invited to register for SPP5 now.

Please note the following dates:

15 September 2010: Start call for abstracts
15 December 2010: Deadline for abstract submission
1 February 2011: Notification of abstracts to be sent
15 February 2011: Early registration deadline
31 March 2011: Hotel reservation deadline